Statehood Supporters

Statehood supporters come from all parties and all ideologies. Here is a summary of prominent statehood and Puerto Rican self determination supporters from across the country. If you are a member of government and statehood supporter, and would like to be included here, please let us know.

“We’ve always been a land of varied cultural backgrounds and origins and we believe firmly that our strength is our diversity. There is much Puerto Rico can contribute to our nation which is why I personally favor Statehood. We hope you will join us.”

President Ronald Reagan

“I have been a pro-statehood believer and I remain one…Estadidad Ahora!”

President George H.W. Bush

“I do not care about politics-I care about what is right. For Puerto Rico to be a state would be good, but at the end, the people of Puerto Rico will have the last word about statehood.”

President George W. Bush

“I strongly believe in equality before the law for all American citizens. This principle extends fully to Puerto Ricans. The American citizenship of Puerto Ricans is constitutionally guaranteed for as long as the people of Puerto Rico choose to retain it.”


President Barack H. Obama



Rep. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL)

Rep. Katherine Harris (R-FL)

Sen. Bill Frist (R-TN)

Governor Jeb Bush (R-FL)

Governor Frank Murkowski (R-AK)

Governor Hailey Barbour (R-MS)

Sen. Norm Coleman (R-MN)

Rep. José Serrano (D-NY)

Rep. Wayne Gilchrest (R-MD)

Rep. Lynn A. Westmoreland (R-GA)

Rep. Ted Poe (R-TX)

Rep. Mike Conaway (R-TX)

Rep. Kenny Marchant (R-TX)

Rep. Joe Wilson (R-SC)

Rep. John Mica (R-FL)

Rep. John Peterson (R-PA)

Rep. Tom Feeney (R-FL)

Rep. Charles Boustany (R-LA)

Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-TN)

Rep. Chris Cannon (R-UT)

Rep. Joe Schwarz (R-MI)

General Wesley Clark

Rep. Connie Mack (R-FL)

Rep. Dave Weldon (R-FL)

Rep. Michael McCaul (R-TX)

Rep. Michael Fitzpatrick (R-PA)

Rep. Christopher Smith (R-NJ)

Rep. James Moran (D-VA)

Rep. Albert Wynn (D-MD)

Sen. Joe Lieberman (D-CT)

President Gerald Ford

Former House Speaker Newt Gingrich

Former House Minority Leader Richard Gephardt (D-MO)

Former Vice President Dan Quayle

Former Senator Bob Dole (R-KS)

Rep. Tom DeLay (R-TX)

Rep. Henry Hyde (R-IL)

Rep. Jerry Weller (R-IL)

Rep. Tom Davis (R-VA)

Rep. Eric Cantor (R-VA)

Rep. Henry Bonilla (R-TX)

Rep Mike Pence (R-IN)

Rep. Jeff Flake (R-AZ)

Rep. Dan Burton (R-IN)

Rep. Patrick Kennedy (D-RI)

Sen. Larry Craig (R-ID)

Sen. Harry Reid (D-NV)

Sen. Mel Martinez (R-FL)

Sen. Rick Santorum (R-PA)

Former Senator Bob Graham (D-FL)

Rep. Ron Kind (D-WI)

Rep. Mark Foley (R-FL)

Rep. John Conyers (D-MI)

Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D-NY)

Rep. Gene Green (D-TX)

Rep. Ellen Tauscher (D-CA)

Rep. Nick Rahall (D-WV)

Rep. Loretta Sanchez (D-CA)

Sen. Tom Coburn (R-OK)

Rep. Melissa Hart (R-PA)