About us

The Puerto Rico Statehood Students Association (PRSSA), based in San Juan, Puerto Rico, is an American non-profit student organization that promotes Statehood for Puerto Rico, an unincorporated territory of the United States.  Founded in 1979, the organization has grown to more than 5,000 members and 70 Chapters at colleges and universities in over 20 states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico.

The PRSSA’s mission is to promote Statehood for Puerto Rico by ushering a new generation of statehood leaders through activism and education.  The Association looks to accomplish its mission by (1) encouraging voting of pro-statehood students, (2) serving as a pro-statehood student think tank, (3) and developing the future leaders of the statehood movement.

The PRSSA Executive Board governs the Association.  This board is comprised of six (6) members: the President, the Vice President, the Secretary, the Executive Director, the Public Relations Director, and the Internship Coordinator. Association members may run for office on the Executive Board by satisfying the requirements set forth in the PRSSA Constitution.

The PRSSA is also governed by State Directors and chapter leaderships.  State Directors are appointed by the Executive Board to oversee PRSSA efforts in states with high concentrations of Puerto Rican students.  State directorships include Florida, Indiana, Iowa, Massachusetts, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico and Washington, D.C.  Additionally, local chapter leaderships govern the over 70 PRSSA representations in colleges and universities throughout the United States and Puerto Rico.

The PRSSA website is Association’s information center.  In addition to important PRSSA news, the site provides student activism resources, Congressional lobbying resources, leadership resources such as internship listings, statehood libraries for students, links to other PRSSA and statehood resources, and contact information for PRSSA leaders and other PRSSA chapters.